8 travel and social media apps TheTomKid lives by

Nowadays there are apps for everything. When I travel, I use several apps to make traveling more enjoyable and find hidden gems.

These apps can be used for many things. I use them to not only enhance my traveling experience, but to draw in my target audience and give them an opportunity to enhance their traveling experiences as well.

1. Yelp

Yelp travel app

I like this app because you can search for restaurants using your GPS, you can search by type of cuisine and by price. It is easy to navigate and a very accurate app.

2. Urbanspoon

Urbanspoon app

Urbanspoon app

This app is so cool because not only can you search for restaurants by price, type of food and nearby, you can have an account where you connect with other Urbanspooners and can post photos and reviews.

3. Waze

Waze travel app

Waze app

This app isn’t like your traditional navigation system. You create your own unique profile, can report police, accidents and traffic and can earn points to unlock new levels of cool.

4. Poynt

Poynt travel app

Poynt app

As seen above, Poynt gives you different topics you can search for. Just turn on your GPS and you’re good to go!

5. Instagram

Instagram app

Instagram app

I use Instagram to promote my blog. I post photos of events and places. The filters are fun and it is a good way to promote your brand.

6. Twitter

Twitter app

Twitter app

I use Twitter to connect with my target audiences and friends. It is a good way to promote your brand and show what traveling you’ve been doing!

7. Facebook

Facebook app

Facebook app

I actually use this more to connect with friends and family, but my Twitter tweets automatically post to my Facebook page. I am eventually going to make a TheTomKid travels page, but I’m still in the process of building my audience.

8. Pinterest

Pinterest app

Pinterest app

I have created a TheTomKid travels board and will be posting blog posts and other cool travel ideas to continue to promote my brand.

So there you have it! The apps I use consistently to help me have a better travel experience and ways to show off what I am doing. Do you have any other unique applications you use to travel with? Let me know! In the mean time, check out my other posts and visit my fellow blogger, Nicole Winkleman’s, blog post for the best airline apps!

7 responses to “8 travel and social media apps TheTomKid lives by

  1. Pingback: Airline Apps | Ports and Lines of the Air·

  2. Your post has intrigued me, I would like to know more about some of the apps! I have Yelp, and it has been super helpful, although at other times it has failed miserably. I haven’t heard of urbanspoon, waze or poynt, but they seem pretty similar. Would you use all of them on the same trip? Or would that be redundant? And as for some of my favorite travel apps, theres GasBuddy, to help you find the cheapest gas near you and a few extreme sports apps (because the only time I travel is to ride concrete waves or snow covered mountains). My favorite sports apps: Liftopia and Spot Finder. Liftopia collects all lift ticket prices and deals so you can compare. Spot Finder helps find the best longboard spots near you, this one is more of a hit or miss because it is updated by the longboarding community in that area. If the longboard community is not large or generous, the app may be of no use.

  3. I haven’t heard of hardly any of those, but then again I’m too broke to travel anywhere (lol). Which one do you find most helpful? I used to have an app called ‘Around Me’ and I think you might find it useful. It seems kind of like Urbanspoon except this app is good when you are in an unfamiliar area. It will show you a map and pinpoint all the restaurants around you. How do you think social media has changed traveling?

  4. I have an iPhone myself and i didn’t know about some of these apps, like Yelp, Urbanspoon, and Poynte. I use twitter, Facebook, instagram, and pinterest all the time. I honestly find “Waze” the most helpful. Its a GPS, police report and traffic and accident report. There’s many more apps that are helpful as well, such as the Google Chrome app, Pandora,even Tumblr! With Google Chrome, you can search anything, ask any questions and get your answer in seconds! With Pandora, you can get music anywhere you go! And Tumblr, you can blog at all times any where you go!

  5. All of these apps seem really cool and useful while traveling. I know that when I travel, I hate driving around trying to find somewhere to eat because I am unfamiliar with the area. These apps completely solve that problem. I also love that you can search by not only type of food but also price. There is nothing I hate more than going to a restaurant and being shocked once I get my bill. Especially being on a college student budget, these apps really help with inexpensive travels!

  6. Hey Megan, thanks for the info! I am not familiar with Poynt but will def check it out and let you know what i think 🙂 Also, have you ever played around with the SkyScanner app? It has the amazing feature to pick a departing destination and sort arrival destination based on price. Its really cool and i’ve spent tons of time brainstorming for future trips on there. It isn’t exactly for during travel, but is a great travel app regardless!

    • Hi Nate,

      Poynt is a great travel app when you need a little of everything in one! Definitely let me know what you think!

      I have never heard of SkyScanner, I’ll have to check it out. Thanks!

      Megan

Leave a Reply

