TheTomKid explores Frankenmuth

Hello fellow travelers! I know it has been quite some time since I posted my last travel idea. I’ve been finishing up one crazy semester of school. I am hoping during my break to give you something new at least once a week!

A couple of weeks ago I had the wonderful opportunity to visit my family in Michigan. One of the days we were there, we decided that going on an adventure to Frankenmuth would be a perfect way to bond, and it absolutely was!

On our way there, we stopped at Tony’s for breakfast. This diner has been featured on shows such as Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives. They definitely gave a lot of food. So much so that my mom, dad and I split a breakfast!

121126-MichiganThanksgiving-23rdBirthday-Tomkins-038edit

Frankenmuth is an old, vintage-feel town nestled in the thumb of Michigan. It is filled with crafty stores, warm coffee shops and the highlight of my trip, the home to one of the oldest breweries in Michigan, Frankenmuth Brewery. They were even celebrating their 150th birthday while we were there!

121126-MichiganThanksgiving-23rdBirthday-Tomkins-056edit

The staff here were fantastic. It was very busy and we wouldn’t have been able to get a table for an HOUR, but we were told we could pull some high top tables together in the bar area.

A mere piece of glass was separating us from part of the brewing process and they kindly let me go in and take some photos for my blog. One of the servers graciously let me take his photo, too! When I asked him if I could, he asked, “Should I smile?” Too precious.

121126-MichiganThanksgiving-23rdBirthday-Tomkins-072edit

After we had a tasty, tall, adult beverage, the lady folk headed out to explore the shops.

121126-MichiganThanksgiving-23rdBirthday-Tomkins-080edit

We stumbled upon the cutest coffee shop in Frankenmuth called the Harvest Coffeehouse & Beanery and sipped on some ridiculously good holiday treats! The staff there was also just as nice as those at the brewery. It must be a small town trend.

121126-MichiganThanksgiving-23rdBirthday-Tomkins-157edit

While we were there it started snowing, which added to the charm of the historic town.

121126-MichiganThanksgiving-23rdBirthday-Tomkins-208edit

If you have an affinity for old-time towns, want to go on an inexpensive day adventure or are obsessed with unique breweries, Frankenmuth is definitely a town you want to visit!

121126-MichiganThanksgiving-23rdBirthday-Tomkins-220edit

What are your favorite historic towns?

One response to “TheTomKid explores Frankenmuth

  1. Pingback: The TomKid visits Great Lakes Brewery | thetomkidtravels·

Leave a Reply

